And so it begins!

The day has finally come! We’re taking off for LA in the early morning for the start of the tour. Here’s a quick update on what has been happening lately:

1. Training – Many miles have been logged around Grand Rapids and Holland. Though I love the beauty of West Michigan, I am excited to see new routes and terrain each day. Some of my rides were spruced up by riding with a group, listening the The Chronicles of Narnia, training with my grandpa, and spotting wildlife.

2. Fundraising – The goal of $10,000 was met and exceeded, thanks be to God! It was a huge burden lifted when the final gift came in that put me over 10k. Thank you SO MUCH to all who have contributed financially. You are all so generous, and I wholeheartedly appreciate your support. I am very excited to see the good work that will be done by the partnering organizations. To date, I have raised $11,835 – bless God!

3. Tour publicity – Check out this article by the Holland Sentinel. It helped further the purpose of the tour by raising awareness.

4. Bike Gear – Thanks to Grand Rapids Bicycle Co. for all the help with my setup and gear. I’m thankful for a knowledgeable staff and quality gear to get me across the country! Here’s a picture of just the bike, to which much has been added.photo

Looking ahead, we have 2 and 1/2 days of driving, a weekend of orientation, and we start riding on Monday! Words cannot express my excitement that has been building up for months. I feel very blessed to be able to share this experience with my Grandpa Wiersma who will also be riding the full distance and my Grandma Wiersma who will be a SAG (support and gear) vehicle driver.

Prayer Request of the post: safe travels for all cyclists who are making their way to the start of the tour.

Stay tuned for more. I’ll close tonight, the eve of the beginning of a beautiful journey, with one of my favorite verses. Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to And so it begins!

  1. Derek says:

    Adam, Always amazing to see what God is up to, and it is such a blessing that you can be a part of it! Really excited for you man, blessings on the journey!

Leave a comment